27 June till 8 August 2022


for artists graduated June 1, 2017 or later

Deadline: Monday, August 8, 2022 (up to 11:59 p.m.)

Go straight to the participation form and terms & conditions

Sybren Hellinga Art Prize 2022

On November 13, the 9th Sybren Hellinga Art Prize will be awarded in Kunsthuis SYB. This incentive prize is intended for artists living in the Netherlands who graduated from a bachelor after June 1, 2017 and before July 15, 2022, and self-taught artists who started working as professional artists in this period.

With the Sybren Hellinga Art Prize, Kunsthuis SYB wants to bring exciting young talent into the limelight, using a range of artistic approaches. The organization encourages participants from different visual disciplines (not solely autonomous) to submit a concise portfolio for assessment by SYB Circles and the jury.

Procedure and presentation
SYB Circles will make a pre-selection from the submissions. The jury will then nominate five artists from that selection.
In the weeks preceding the award ceremony, Kunsthuis SYB will organize a series of talk shows in which the practice of each nominee will be explored in detail and shared with the audience, in the context of a physical presentation of their work in the house. This program runs from October 22 through November 13 in Kunsthuis SYB and online. During the finissage on November 13, the winner will be announced.

The winner will receive an amount of 3000 euros.

The Sybren Hellinga Art Prize is awarded every 3 years. Gallery owner Sybren Hellinga founded the prize in 1998 from his life mission to promote forward-looking art. The prize is organized by Kunsthuis SYB, and traditionally made possible by the Sybren Hellinga Foundation. Winners of the previous editions are Masha de Vries (1998), Ray Moon (2001), Paulien Oltheten (2004), Lotje van Lieshout (2007), Jetske Verhoeven (2010), Riet Wijnen (2013), Milena Naef (2016), Vytautas Kumža (2019).

About Kunsthuis SYB
Kunsthuis SYB consists of an exhibition space with a house in a monumental building in the middle of the Frisian village Beetsterzwaag. Based on a project proposal, SYB invites contemporary artists to live in the house and develop new work during a six-week project period. In this period, the emphasis is on new collaborations, research, and experimentation. SYB Circles is a network of young art professionals who, as art critics and programmers, explore their practice together with the residents and share it in publications (in the broadest sense of the word) with a broad national audience.

SYB Circles consists of:
Josje Hattink
Vanessa van ‘t Hoogt
Alina Lupu
Anika Mariam Ahmed
Liza Voetman

The jury of the 9th Sybren Hellinga Kunstprijs consists of:
Vytautas Kumža (Winner Sybren Hellinga Art Prize 2019)
Saskia Noor van Imhoff (Visual artist)
Laurie Cluitmans (Curator Centraal Museum in Utrecht)
Sanne Luteijn (manager The Ekard Residency)

– the deadline for applications is Monday, August 8, 11:59 p.m.
– in September the jury will choose the five nominees
– in September, the nominees are invited to Kunsthuis SYB for a first meeting.
– on Saturday, October 22 the exhibition opens in Kunsthuis SYB.
– the award ceremony will take place on Sunday, November 13, at Kunsthuis SYB.

Application form
You can only register for this prize by using the digital application form. Please read the form carefully before uploading your documents.
In addition to an artist statement of a maximum of 250 words, a portfolio should be submitted with a minimum of 3, and no more than 5 artworks. These must be collected in 1 PDF – a maximum of 3 films/videos may be uploaded. The PDF must contain descriptions with regard to material, year of manufacture, size/duration, and any (short) captions.

The conditions for participation can be found here. The organization of Kunsthuis SYB reserves the right to exclude artists who do not meet the criteria from participation. Do you have questions about the conditions? An overview of FAQ’ s can be found here.

With thanks to
This prize is made possible by the Sybren Hellinga Foundation, the Mondriaan Fund, the Municipality of Opsterland, and the Van Teyens Foundation.